Bah humbug

Monday 24 December at 0912 | Posted in Humour, Life, Personal, Rants, Work | 8 Comments

Ok, I know it’s Christmas Eve, but I am in work.

In my defence I have the rest of the week off. I won’t be getting paid for my days off – I will miss a weeks pay during the period of time in the year that I spend the most money. Plus my employer has said I only have to work half a day and they will put in whole days pay. So I thought why not?

So in work and we have the radio on. The station are doing something nice and handing out £500 to people who are at work on Christmas Eve and Day. Aswell as sending some treats over to their work for all their colleagues to enjoy.
Just as the DJ asks the lucky new owner of £500 what his plans were with the money – I was now interested in this little telephone bit – one of the other two persons in the office gets up and does some photocopying and drowns out the the sound of the station with the photocopying mcahine.

Now I’ll never know what the guy planned to do with his money!

Not only am I annoyed by that. But also who comes in to work on Christmas Eve to do h’actual work? (Except Santa of course)

Merry Christmas dudes and dudettes.

And I hope you have a Neat New Year too!

(PS for those also stuck in the office today, check out this humorous post from Bettys blog)

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m not at work because I don’t have a job but in my defence I have worked Christmas Eve, Boxing Day and New Year’s Eve for the last 3 years. Double-pay is too tempting. MERRY CHRISTMAS to you and the lovely Pinky!

  2. Two of my good mates are also working today, even though none of the companies they’d usually be taking calls from are actually working until new year.

    Just think of the extra money. Nothing exciting happens christmas eve day anyway.

  3. I’m working ever day this week. No extra money (but then I do get paid a shed load). And yes, I’m trying to do proper work, but it would seem that not everyone has the same idea as me which is causing serious problems. I can’t wait until this madness is over, it turns 1 day jobs into 1 week jobs 😦

  4. I’m working today too – I only have to work half day and get paid for the full day too 🙂

    Nothing excitings happening apart from that.

    I second Dom – cant wait for it to be over.

  5. hi rob, it’s not a big deal to work, I actually wouldn’t mind working, it’s no big deal for people who don’t celebrate the holidays, its no big deal at all.

    I hope you’ll have a great week off though!!

    cheers!

  6. I worked a half day on Christmas Eve too and it was fine. I ever got to listen to ‘Driving Home for Christmas’ on my way home after work. It doesn’t get much more Christmasy than that! Happy Christmas and have a happy New Year. 🙂

  7. Hi Rob!!!!! Sorry I didna make it over here to cheer you up!! I got my job back this week, so I’ll be working after the New Year, thank feck! When I was in retail, I worked all sorts of holidays.

    I hope you have a wonderful New Year.

  8. Awww, it wouldna let me leave your wee snowglobe. I’ma post it on my wordpress for you right now! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

