You big woolly cow

Monday 23 July at 1448 | Posted in Humour, Life, Personal, Scotland | 27 Comments

Update: It seems that my dad isn’t a very good tour guide. First he gets us stuck up a mountain. Then tells us tales of Nazi mountain owners that are false. And it appears – thanks to the very kind words of someone who it seems has taken it upon his self to straighten all cow related facts – that my dad doesn’t know his Aberdeen Angus from his Highland Cattle.  

On two occasions on my holiday I passed Aberdeen Angus Scottish Highland cows.

First was on second day of the holiday. After being scared to death while getting passed cliff edges, not sleeping well due to sharing a floor in a barn with a mouse, getting soaked for over 8 hours while warning I thought that may day couldn’t get any worse. Then we came up to the herd of Angus. My dad said “we would be ok as long as we don’t go between the mother and calf.”
I checked the path that led between the herd. And just our luck the path split the mother and calf. The only way past would to go between the two.
After a fun, but very scary and tiring last two days I was worried that we would be has-beens at the the final herd-le (haha, good pun)
Luckily we got past. Safe and in one piece.

Then next time I saw, what I guess was the same herd, was the same day I was looking at the beautiful scenenary.
As we got down from the mountain (and again I was pleased to see the floor, my dad nearly had us climbing up verticle rock face) and too the lake you can see in my last photo, we came across the herd having a relax in the lake. It was a hot day (yes it was hot in Scotland) and I was a little jealous.

But seeing as all the cows were pretty relaxed I had a good opportunity to photo them.


A very hairy Aberdeen Angus Scottish Highland cows.

27 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i lveo this fuzzy cow, i’m so jealous you saw him

  2. A hairy cow. Genius!

  3. Having now seen where my steaks come from, I don’t think it’ll go down too well the next time round.

  4. Pinkosa, If we didnt spot them so far away from the little village I would of shown them to you.

    Rebecca, it is easier for me to remember then Aberdeen Angus.

    Anne, sorry about that. They are really cute though. I couldn’t not take a photo.

  5. i like to think that they are all soft but i bet it’s all itchy and scratchy

  6. Awww, a cow. I dun like those zookeeps makin’ light of that wee monkey stunning himself. Poor thing. I am going to have to come here more often. I will put you on my bloglines. 🙂 *flash of genius*

  7. oi! I ‘ave a wp blog around somewhere!! If I dig it up, I too can have a wee pic go with my smart arse comments!

  8. Pinkosa It looks nice I think too.

    Fiona, I didnt want to appear rude when I overheard the zookeepers. It was so hard to kkeep a straight face when they were telling that story. All the monkeys seemeed fine when we went though.
    Good genius thinking there. Nice to have you onboard

  9. There is nothing we like better round here, then a picture to go with a smart arse comment.

  10. Mwahahahaha! i found it, and I shall now take it out for a spin. *holds breath*

  11. Well, that dun look like the Fiona I know. :-p It’s rather bland innit?

  12. That was a quick spin.
    It is a bit bland yeah. Its an improvement over the no picture comments though.

  13. next time you’ll have to go and pet one and let me know how it feels!

  14. Well, I’m devastated. 😥 I suppose WP wants to make sure I’ve not uploaded a nakies pic of Britney or sumthin.

  15. Pinkosa I’ll mke sure to do that. Although I hope I’m not carrying much as I’ll have to run fast.
    Fiona have you uploaded naked photos of Britney? Is that your way of getting hits on your blog? 😉
    Hurry up an upload an avatarrarrrarr

  16. I’m a real wuss when I have to walk through fields with cows in – I mean, have you seen the size of some of those things?

    That one looks quite cuddly though.

  17. Julia, that one only looks cuddly as it is about 3 foot high.
    I’m with you when it comes to being a wuss. Although have you ever tried to be inconspicuous while walking past a bunch of cows? I don’t think it works.

  18. Sorry, I don’t think thats really a cow…not like any I’ve ever seen. I should know too, hence the COW GAL name. tee-hee! 8)

  19. Well Utah, you do hold an experts name. 😉
    It might be good that you don’t see them. They are so cute they may put you off beef forever(if you arent already a vegetarian)
    But they are very popular in America, they just seem to be woolier in Scotland.

  20. Numbnuts! They are not Aberdeen Angus cows, you moron. Are you from America? No wonder. They are Scottish Highland cows! Totally different breed. Aberdeen angus are black and short haired. Highlands are a much older breed and iconic of Scotland’s agricultural landscape. Fool. Twit.

  21. Hi Angus. Thanks for putting that right. Although I don’t think the insults were nescessary.
    And I’m not from America no. I’m from the England.

  22. I guess he set you strait… wow. But you are very correct, I would probley want to make a pet of such a cute little fuzzy face. The old man has to keep me off the farm in the spring as it is with the black angus cattle his family runs anyhow. Oh and hey, thanks for the link, you can visit me any ol’ time in America.

  23. Utah, that he did. I can’t argue with da man.
    So you are an actual real cowgal? With the hat and shoes and everythin?

  24. Well I guess you can say that. But I don’t live on the farm myself… My old man’s family has the animals. Cattle, horses, sheep and the stray any thing his grandmother finds cute at the auction on Saturday morning, but grandpa usally returns them while grandmother is not watching. The old man used to even Rodeo in his day. I myself just try and hang out with grandmother.

  25. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your
    weblog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?
    A number of my blog readers have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome.
    Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?

  26. Thanks for every other wonderful post. Where else may anybody
    get that kind of information in such an ideal manner of writing?

    I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the look for such information.

  27. Hi there great website! Does running a blog such as this require a lot of work?
    I’ve very little knowledge of programming but I had
    been hoping to start my own blog in the near future.

    Anyhow, if you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off subject but I just had to ask. Kudos!


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.